Student Participation

At the SECOL XXXII held March 28-30 March 1985, the Executive committee established the Reza Ordoubadian Award, a cash prize presented annually, recognizing the best student paper presented at the spring conference. Ann Pember was the first to receive this prestigious award.

SECOL members should use the check off box on the annual membership form. Members wishing to make anonymous contributions may do so. Friends of SECOL may contribute the current Conference Chair or SECOL Secretary.

Attention student presenters at SECOL 83: Student members of SECOL can apply for theĀ Reza Ordoubadian Award, a prize presented annually, recognizing the best student paper presented at the spring conference. Winners will receive a cash award, complimentary membership in SECOL, and the possibility to publish their papers in theĀ Southern Journal of Linguistics. To be considered, please send an electronic copy of the paper (preferably PDF) to the Secretary, Catherine Evans Davies ( no later than January 7, 2017. Winners will be announced at the 2017 meeting in Charleston, SC.

Award Year Title Winner/Affiliation
2009 No award was given in this year
2008 “The Evolution of /l/ Across Three Generations of African Americans” Janneke Van Hofwegen/ N. Carolina State U
2007 No award was given in this year
2006 “A Sociolinguistic Analysis of Pause in North Carolina” Tyler Kendall/ Duke U/N. Carolina State U
2005 No award was given in this year
2004 First Place: “A Crosslinguistic Comparison of Rhythm in Spanish & English by Raleigh Bilinguals” Phillip M. Carter/ N. Carolina State U
Second Place: “Vocalic Alignment on Roanoke ‘Oi’land” Sarah Hilliard/ Duke U & Jeannine Carpenter/N Carolina State U
2003 “Multimedia Projects in Community-based Fieldwork” Ben Torbert/ Duke U
2000 “Native American Language History Traced through Consonant Cluster Reduction” Ben Torbert / N Carolina State U
1999 Glenda Lynn Rose /Old Dominion U
1998 “Pronominal Clitic Stress in Rio de la Plata Spanish: An Optimality of Florida” Maria I. Moyna /U of Florida)
1997 “Distinctiveness in the face of dialect death: The case of Smith Island English” Natalie Schilling-Estes/ N Carolina State U
1994 Adrianne Cheek /
1995 “The significance of subject-verb concord in vernacular varieties” Kirk Hazen/N Carolina State U
1991 “Dissimilation of Noncontiguous Consonants in English” Sally Green/U N Carolina, Chapel Hill
1989 Vivian Brown, Texas A & M U
1987 No award was given in this year

Contact if you can provide missing information.

The following SECOL members have generously contributed to the Reza Ordoubadian Award

  • Dr. Mary Zeigler (2010)
  • Dr. Connie Eble (2009, 2010)
  • Dr. Bettie Rose Horn (2009, 2010)
  • Drs. Sara Sanders and Steve Nagel (2009, 2010)
  • Dr. Connie Eble (2008)
  • Dr. Steven Gross (2008)
  • Dr. Lynn K Varn (2008)
  • Dr. Connie Eble (2007)
  • Dr. Clai Rice (2007)
  • Dr. Mary Zeigler (2007)
  • Dr. Carol Myers-Scotton (2006)
  • Dr. Mary Zeigler (2006)